New Year is a fresh start and I am starting to consider placing the hardware on retirement, since I believe that I can use other means for the same purpose.

Basically, having Servers (even as small as the MicroServer) is a unit in my home that i really do not need. Its a device that I somehow have to take into consideration and even if Unraid is totally offhand (if you wish to have it this way), I end up logging into the Management Interface way to often – for no other reason that FOMO (fear of missing out).

So what has been my considerations and thought process here / and trust me, I still have not made a final decision if I stay or go.

  1. Storage can be offloaded to external hard drive. Even if the MicroServer is sipping gently of the Watt’s – Zero is still less and as such it might not be needed. Some of the most important storage files could be offloaded to Cloud Storage and let a subscription pay for the electricity.
  2. Docker has become my main testing ground. Today at Unraid (when possible) I am reconsidering the place this using WSL (Windows Subsystem for Linux) on my laptop and run the needed content there. Still some way to go there, but I think it can replace my needs.
  3. Hyper-V can run my ISO/OS testing and interest, reasonable modern laptops can run a surprising number of actions, before becoming a bottleneck.

Which bring me back to the laptops at home.

  1. Daily – My Surface Book 3 (I7/32GB/Nvidia/500GB storage) is my go-to box. It has a few years behind the belt, but for me – it is the best-looking piece of hardware that I have here, way overpriced on original purchase, and absolute impossible to upgrade renew. I even have a minor crack in the touch screen, nothing problematic yet, but a message from the future of needed replacements.
  2. Test Box – Lenovo P51 Workstation (I7/32GB/Nvidia/1TB Storage) and (theoretical a much better. Machine – power and all) and I am certain this one over time will become the main box. For now, we let this one handle the testing, I have had the original brushes with KVM on my Fedora Setup and it is really promising (performance, and management wise).

Bringing me to the actions of my current usage today. I have always been a Microsoft (Desktop) Fanboy. I like the Windows Environment, I like the usage of Office Tools (I use them on a browser, not the desktops editions) and the current Microsoft is a hugely different company than what we have been used to.

I have no doubt that the push for AI (CoPilot) will proceed and accelerate, still early days for me. I use it, evaluate it, but honestly have not really seen the value to the crazy WOW moment (yet) – but I am certain that we have more to come.

Did I forget anything, my interest in bringing my Homelab to the Cloud. Well, forget about it. There is (for me) no need for the complications, I like simple stuff and I am not certain that having a Cloud Server active is going to give me the same value, but again – there are certain flexibility in the setup that might bring me back. But I am also certain, that this will come at a price point, just not certain if this is something I want to pay for (in time and money).

This was my 2024 overview (Feb) – things may / will change, and I will try and update the records here on the blog.

Leave a comment

I’m Dion Jensen

Welcome to my blog, and a peak behind the scenes. I am currently using this blog as a release for all the crazy ideas that i have, stay tuned, one day we will get there.

Let’s connect