Today I had, some time to to certain amount of nerding, and behold – going though the old storage and I found the “good old EEE PC” – the one and first Net book that ever hit the shelves.

Brought to my “in Sweden” by my good old friend (boman) it’s the deification of a gadget, something you bought – version 0.9 – not really production ready and not really useful, but surely something to behold and something to explore in time to come. I do not have to give praises to the concept of net books – owning an Acer Aspire one 250 (absolutely one of the best laptops ever made) I have embraced and enjoyed the best of these days. But the Asus EEE PC – was just about to slow and to early in the computing cycles, to be used for something important. I have been thinking about – what would I ever use this small ‘book for – if anything and behold, the Android project:; http://www.android-x86.org/ gave me the inspiration of placing Android on the slim and ”let’s just be frank, under powered net book” – and with the inspiration of this site – and the Unetbooting software, I was able to replace the built in Linux kernel to something that really looks like something inspirational – a Functional 7 Inch Net Book, running Android..

I am really excited, and really ready to explore – something tells me that I have to revaluate what processing power really means, when so much good stuff can come out of such a small ‘book.

3 responses to “Surprise of the day – EEE PC with Android 4”

  1. Karsten Rasch-Adamsen Avatar

    So, is this a sales pitch for installing Android on those so-cute-and-handy-yet-sooooo-slow netbooks lying around in our homes? I believe that a part of iPads success is the fact that the netbook hardware was just too immature to handle the slow but inevitable death by the hands of Windows Update… [sigh!]

  2. dionjensen Avatar

    Hi Karsten – thanks for your feedback; and no – this is not a Sales Pitch 🙂 The Android is (as opposed to the successful IPAD Software) free of charge for the end user, and rely on a true community approach (although supported by a commercial organization) – very much like the IOS Background (you know, Nix/BSD) which apple people now so gladly pay for.

    The Asus EEE 701 (Old, 512 MB ram and 900 MHz processor) was launched in 2007 (2-3 years before the IPAD) and as such never meant to “last forever”) – mine just found new life, after I did deploy the Android 4x Software on it. So yes, it might have been immature (you know, it does happen with the early technology) – but I had to share this positive experience, since I was rather surprised.

    By the way – the original EEE 701 came with Linux, only a fool would place a Windows OS on such limited hardware.

    I am sure there are many people who enjoy paying top$$ for getting the latest version of IPAD – the fun thing I notice is that most apple fan boy’s (and girls) state the reason why they like the apple products is that it’s mature – and still they “flock like flies at the apple shop”, upon every new release. I fail to see why they do not (just) upgrade the SW.

Leave a comment

I’m Dion Jensen

Welcome to my blog, and a peak behind the scenes. I am currently using this blog as a release for all the crazy ideas that i have, stay tuned, one day we will get there.

Let’s connect