Why work doesn’t happen at work (from TED)

As a professional IT Consultant and Adviser, i have had the pleasure for several years to work from home (from time to time) although i do have the pleasure of my colleges company in our Copenhagen office (on a weekly basis) – although its about 90 minutes away from my home (from door to door).

I would encourage you to view this TED Broadcast, and then read on: Jason Fried has a radical theory of working: that the office isn’t a good place to do It.

My current role (As a Client Service Manager for Symantec) leaves me with a diverse job, assisting clients all over the Nordic Region with Deployment and Utilisation of our services, and this is (off-course) quite frequently done via Phone Call and Remote Access (our business are within Software as a Service).

I plan my workday in such a manner that i attend all relevant and required meeting in the office (In Copenhagen), normally advising people in advance, of my need for collaboration and meeting requirements – so they know why it’s important to take time together, and i plan my work days in advance as well.

Work from home has become a great value to my life, since it offers me a peacefull environment where i have the chance to focus on the tasks ahead of me, as well as have a chance to enjoy silence (or moderate music) of my own desire, to support and secure my productivity.

Working from home is not (and may not) be treated any different than a client meeting (in the face of the client). I need to be open of the actions that i am attending, Defensive about all potential disturbances (both my wife and the kids does respect the closed door -> “Daddy is working”) but off-course the flexibility to attend and relate to the actions that are brought home by spouse and kids are an added value. My 5 minutes by the water cooler are often replaced with the kids/wife in the kitchen – but all in a matter of respect and serious approach.

There are many pro’s and cons to working from Office (or home for that matter) – i would like you to provide with an excellent link about working from home.

Leave a Reply

